View from audience at the Church Street Center looking at stage

Elizabeth and Lawrence Vadnais Environmental Issues Lecture

This annual lecture series is named for Professor Lawrence H. Vadnais and is sponsored by the Vadnais Endowment.


BallantineJoanna Ballantine

Trustees of Reservations, Vice President, Western Region 

Thursday, October 26, 2017
7 p.m.
Murdock Hall, Sammer Dennis Room (218)

Free and Open to the Public
Information: 413.662.5224

Joanna Ballantine is the Vice President for the Western Region.  The Western region contains some of the state’s most iconic properties including Stevens-Coolidge Place, the Old Manse, Fruitlands Museum, Powisset and Chestnut Hill Farms, Farandnear, Doyle, Tully Lake Campground, Naumkeag, Notchview, Field Farm, Monument Mountain and Bartholomew’s Cobble, a national natural landmark. In total the Western region encompasses over 50 iconic and scenic properties from mountains to farms to public gardens including remarkable collections and historic houses.

Joanna’s role is to oversee the stewardship, business and enterprise performance, engagement and visitor services and field operations for the Western region. Joanna serves as the internal and external leader for The Trustees’ throughout the Berkshires, Pioneer Valley, Central MA, Charles River Valley and Andover regions of Massachusetts. These properties serve thousands of visitors and generate significant revenue that helps support the overall mission of The Trustees. Since joining The Trustees, Joanna has been working to expand the organization’s mission and impact in the Western region, using its many iconic, natural, agricultural and cultural properties as platforms to engage new members, visitors, and supporters.

Joanna holds an MSW from University of Maryland, an MA from Baltimore Hebrew University in Middle East Studies, and a BA from Hampshire College. Joanna currently serves on the Board of the Brookfield Farm and lives in Amherst with her husband Clay and two teenage children

Past Speakers 

2016-2017: John Harris

2015-2016: Andy Vadnais

2014-2015: Dean Cycon

2013-2014: Marion Stoddard

2012-2013: Stephen L. Cowell

2011-2012: Elizabeth Kolbert

2010-2011: Averill H. Cook

2009-2010: Frank O'Brien-Bernini

2008-2009: Scott Weidensaul

2007-2008: Dr. William Moomaw

2004-2005: Dr. John Peterson Myers