

### Minutes of the Meeting of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES Academic Affairs Committee Wednesday, March 6, 2013 87 Blackinton Street Conference Room

#### Members in attendance

William Dudley, Chair Mohan Boodram Susan Gold

#### Member absent

JD Chesloff

#### Others in attendance

Mary K. Grant, President Cynthia Brown, Vice President of Academic Affairs Monica Joslin, Dean of Academic Affairs Paul LeSage, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs David Langston, Professor of English/Communications Jesse McMillan, Student Thomas Bernard, Clerk

The meeting was called to order at 10:34 a.m. by Trustee Dudley.

### MCLA Mission Statement Update

President Grant and Vice President Brown provided an update on the process to revise the MCLA mission statement. The update is being advanced in parallel with MCLA's accreditation self-study efforts, and there is close alignment between the mission statement and the MCLA strategic plan.

Vice President Brown led a small team of faculty, staff, and students in drafting the new mission statement. Several campus groups – including the President's Council, accreditation self-study steering committee, the Student Government Association, faculty chairs and the student affairs division leadership team – provided comment on the development of the mission statement. The statement was presented to and endorsed by the All College Committee. The trustees had the opportunity to review an earlier draft of the statement at their February retreat.

Committee members discussed the statement and offered their support for the statement and the work involved in developing the statement. They commented that it was a clear and concise representation of MCLA and the values of the College. Trustee Dudley commented on the connections between the mission statement and the College strategic plan.

President Grant thanked Vice President Brown and the members of the working group for their efforts in developing the new mission statement.

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was

**VOTED:** To recommend that the Board of Trustees approve MCLA's new mission statement.

## **Personnel Actions Overview**

Vice President Brown informed the committee about the personnel actions that provide a pathway for faculty at MCLA. These processes are governed to a large degree by the faculty contract.

Through the annual **Reappointment** process, faculty are evaluated through a portfolio of work during their second, fourth, and sixth years of service. The portfolio provides evidence of their teaching, advising, scholarship, and service. Reappointment does not require a vote by the Board of Trustees; however, the annual reappointment process helps the Board to get to know the faculty and follow their progress on the path to tenure.

By their seventh year of service, faculty must submit an application and portfolio for **Tenure**, although faculty have the option to apply early for tenure. The tenure portfolio addresses all years of service, includes a letter from the Department Chair, and is evaluated by a Committee on Tenure which makes a recommendation to the Vice President, who in turn makes a recommendation to the President. The President makes her recommendation to the Board of Trustees which must vote to approve that a faculty member be given reappointment with tenure.

**Promotion** to the rank of Associate Professor is not automatically conferred with tenure, but must be applied for separately. As with tenure, promotion recommendations are based on a portfolio review that highlights meritorious performance in teaching, advising, scholarship, and campus service. Similarly, a faculty with at least four years of service at the Associate Professor level may apply for promotion to full Professor. Promotion does not require a vote by the Board of Trustees; however, this information also helps the Board to get to know the faculty and follow the progress of their careers.

# Tenure

Vice President Brown discussed and presented the Committee with recommendations that three members of the faculty be awarded tenure. President Grant noted that she supported the recommendations.

The Committee reviewed the tenure recommendations for the following faculty members:

- Dr. Sharon Claffey, Psychology
- Dr. Peter Hoyt, Biology (Athletic Training)
- Melanie Mowinski, Fine and Performing Arts (Art)

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, it was

**VOTED** unanimously to recommend tenure for Sharon Claffey, Peter Hoyt, and Melanie Mowinski.

#### **Faculty Promotions**

Vice President Brown has recommended and the president has approved the following faculty for promotion.

#### Associate Professor

- Dr. Sharon Claffey, Psychology
- Dr. Dale Fink, Education
- Dr. Peter Hoyt, Biology Athletic Training
- Melanie Mowinski, FPA Art
- Dr. Elena Traister, Environmental Studies

### Librarian

• Linda Kaufmann, Library

### Professor

- Dr. Rosanne Denhard, English/Communications
- Dr. Graziana Ramsden, Modern Languages
- Dr. Ann Scott, Education
- Dr. Adrienne Wootters, Physics

The committee discussed the importance of hearing about the faculty and their accomplishments in teaching, scholarship, and service, and endorsed President Grant's approval of these promotions.

This year's cycle of promotions included a greater than usual number of candidates. The Committee on Promotions conducted their work with only three members out of the five allowed under the faculty contract; this was in part because many of the candidates for promotion might otherwise have served on the committee. President Grant acknowledged and thanked the committee members who served – Sumi Colligan, Sociology; Anthony Daly, History; and Ed Miano, Business Administration – for going above and beyond on behalf of their colleagues and this important process.

## Reappointments

Vice President Brown has recommended and the president has approved the following faculty for, sixth, fifth, fourth, and third year reappointments.

### Sixth Year

- Dr. Emily Mooney, Biology
- Dr. Daniel Shustack, Biology (Environmental Studies)

## Fifth Year

• Dr. Petra Hejnova, Political Science and Public Policy

## **Fourth Year**

- Dr. Rita Nnodim, Interdisciplinary Studies
- Laura Standley, Fine and Performing Arts (Theatre)
- Dr. Jennifer Zoltanski, Sociology

### **Third Year**

- Dr. Mark Cohen, Computer Science
- Dr. Liz Hartung, Mathematics
- Dr. Ely Janis, History
- Dr. Nick Stroud, Education
- Dr. Ben Wood, Psychology

President Grant thanked Vice President Brown for her leadership of the important work of guiding the personnel action process.

# **Faculty Search Update**

Vice President Brown noted that eight faculty searches were undertaken for the 2013-2014 academic year. Four finalists have accepted offers; one offer is pending, and three searches are ongoing.

# Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned at 12:19 p.m.