

The Board of Trustees of Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts Thursday, April 10, 2025 via TEAMS for a duly called special meeting:

MINUTES

Trustees Present: M. Boodram, B. Burdick, J. Clarke-Mitchell, W. Garrity, F. Keator, B. Lord, D.

Marshall, D. Rodowicz, Y. Spicer

Trustees Absent: J. Barrett

MCLA Staff present: J. Birge - President, K. Kozak – Secretary of the Board

As allowed by executive order of the Governor of Massachusetts, in compliance with the provisions of Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 30 and 15A, Section 9, and with a quorum present via audio/video conference, the Board of Trustees of Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts met on April 10, 2025 for a duly called special meeting, with Board Chair Boodram presiding.

Chair Boodram called the meeting to order at 4:04p.m.

President Birge presented the recommendations from the Executive Committee for Honorary Degree Recipients at Commencement 2025.

- a. Mr. Kiese Laymon Doctor of Humane Letters (Commencement Speaker) Professor and writer, MacArthur "Genius" Fellow, connections in local area.
- b. Honorable Tricia Farley-Bouvier Doctor of Public Service State Rep for Pittsfield area who advocates for the Berkshires and has been a partner in our work as well.
- c. Dr. Barbara Malkas Doctor of Public Service Retiring Superintendent of North Adams Public Schools, excellent partner and supporter of Early College Program, has received numerous accolades in recent years for her educational leadership.
- d. Mr. Dennis Powell Doctor of Public Service President of the NAACP in Pittsfield, community leader, has partnered with MCLA on equity and belonging initiatives, especially in educational programming

There was discussion among the Trustees that this is an impressive and well-qualified group. It was noted that three of the four are Berkshire County based.

Special Trustees Meeting 4.10.25 Page 2

Upon motion made and duly seconded, via a roll call, it was

VOTED: To approve the recommendation that the Honorable Tricia Farley-Bouvier receive an honorary Doctor of Public Service at the 2025 MCLA Commencement exercises.

Mr. Keator abstained given a family relationship with Rep. Farley-Bouvier.

Upon motion made and duly seconded, via a roll call, it was

VOTED: To approve the recommendation that Mr. Dennis Powell receive an honorary Doctor of Public Service at the 2025 MCLA Commencement exercises.

Dr. Clarke-Mitchell abstained.

Upon motion made and duly seconded, via a roll call, it was

VOTED: To approve the recommendation that Mr. Kiese Laymon receive an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters and Dr. Barbara Malkas receive an honorary Doctor of Public Service at the 2025 MCLA Commencement exercises.

Upon motion made and duly seconded, via a roll call, it was

VOTED: To adjourn the meeting at 4:15p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Kelli Kozak Secretary